And that's justice? (Outcasts and rejects pt 3)

Our friend was bringing food to a new mother who was recovering in the hospital after a c-section. 

The new mother happened to be an illegal, from another country, under guard by the gendarmerie. Our friend was from the same country, but here legally.

Upon trying to enter the room, our friend found it locked. She asked the guards what happened to the new mother in the room.

"Oh, you know her?"

And suddenly she found herself under arrest.

The guards hadn't known that the woman escaped. Or so they say. And obviously someone who would bring food to a new foreign mother must have been complicit in her escape.

So our friend was arrested. Questioned. Kept overnight.

The next day, after intervention, she was released, but forced to pay a fine. 200 euros for what? For being at the wrong place, at the wrong time, without the right people to plead her cause.

"That's just the way it is for people from that country who live here." Was a comment I heard from another friend about the situation. "They're just not liked here. But it's good that she's okay." I mentioned the bribe she'd had to pay, and my friend just shrugged, "That's a lot," was all she said. 

And that's how it is for some people who live here. Is it right? No. Just? No. The way things should be? Certainly not. But it's the way of life, and no one expects it to change. 



Comments